[Skip to Content]

GardenComm, is the only national online media awards program for the gardening communications industry. Held annually for more than 20 years, the GardenComm Media Awards have recognized the top professional horticultural communicators­ in the areas of writing, photography, speaking, digital media, broadcast media, publishing, and trade. This year's program features 38 categories (View here). All works primarily focused on horticulture and gardening topics are eligible. All individuals, producers, and publishers may enter. GardenComm membership is not required, but GardenComm membership does qualify entrants for discounted entry fees.

For more than 20 years, GardenComm has conducted our annual awards program. Originally the Quill & Trowel Awards, the program expanded into the current GardenComm Media Awards, now called the Laurels. Throughout its evolution, the GardenComm awards program has maintained its primary goal of providing public recognition for excellence in gardening-related communications­ across all media.

Click Here to Submit Your Entry


Award entries should be submitted in electronic form, except 

For all BOOK and CALENDAR entries, please send two copies via Media Mail to

Garden Communicators International
9825 Magnolia Avenue, Suite B-415 - Riverside, CA 92503

If you are entering the same book or calendar in multiple categories, please do not send more than two copies.


Only works first published and copyrighted between January 1, 2022 and December 31, 2022 are eligible for entry in the 2023 Media Awards.  These dates also apply to the Speakers category. The official copyright date will determine eligibility and must clearly state “© 2022” on the material submitted.

You do not need to be a GardenComm member to enter. Any writer, editor, publisher, producer, company, etc. may enter. Entry fees will vary based upon the membership status of the award recipient only. GardenComm reserves the right to determine an entry ineligible if it is inconsistent with the goals and objectives of the organization. Entrants who submit a work in the wrong category will be asked to move it to the correct one.


Entries received between January 01, 2023 and February 01, 2023 are eligible for a special early-bird discount of $25 off the standard entry fee per entry, and all entries must be received no later than March 22, 2023. Late entries will not be accepted.


A jury of professionals, selected for their experience, expertise and genre perspective, will be assembled to evaluate all entries. [Judges may NOT judge categories in which they enter, or any entry made by anyone else that included the name and/or work of the judge. Judges are free to submit entries to categories where they are not judging. ]

Top entries from the first round of judging will be eligible for Silver Awards. 

The second round of judging, to determine Gold Awards, will include only Silver Award-winning entries. 

Judges will not provide feedback on individual entries. 


Awards will be given at the following levels: Silver Awards of Achievement and Gold Awards for Best Talent or Best Product, representing the best of each artistic category and the best of each product. Silver Awards will be announced June 2023.  Winning entries will be presented at the Annual Awards & Honors Ceremony, during the GardenComm Annual Conference.


Contact GardenComm at info@gardencomm.org.

Click Here to Submit Your Entry